top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenameless eyeball

photography...how to get started :)

Updated: Feb 15, 2022


the grass is greener on this side too | circa 2018

I remember when I first started getting into photography, for some reason I thought that amazing photographs could only be taken with fancy cameras that have tons of buttons that seem super complicated to understand. I would see people sharing their pictures on social media and I felt left out. Little did I know that it wasn’t the kind of camera you were using, but learning how to really frame whatever you want to capture. One of the coolest photographs I captured was of the sun rays peeking through some leaves on my way to school. The more I looked at the picture, the more I started realizing that my little android had more potential than what I imagined.


Now…


Say you are in the same position I was a couple years ago…I’ve got some tips for you :)

  • Any camera works fine, especially if you are trying to test the waters.

    • I promise that you don’t need to spend a crazy amount of money on some gear because at the end of the day….if you don’t know how to use your $3000 camera, then it’s literally like throwing money down the drain. Expensive is not always pretty.

    • Do you have a smartphone with a decent camera? Go out and start capturing the sunsets or some birds on a tree. Just find an old point and shoot camera your mom used to use back in the day? Go get an SD card or some film and start taking some snapshots of your day.


seagulls read too | circa november 2018

  • Start snapping everywhere you go. Even if you never really leave your house.

    • I promise you that there are so many cool things to capture in the world…whether that be some cool looking coffee, a really nice building, a funky looking cloud, a bird on a telephone pole, some random lady wearing a cool hat, the view from your window, etc.

    • Why snap everything? Well, you gotta start somewhere. Plus, this gives you the opportunity to experiment and find what you enjoy capturing the most.


a sailboat in venice | circa november 2018

  • Once you start feeling confident about your work, don’t be afraid to start sharing them with your friends and family.

    • Sharing your photos online might seem a bit daunting at first, but it’s literally one of the best things that you can use to your advantage. Why? It’s a neat way of showing your progress and taking people along on your journey. You never know who might be looking at your work and the kind of impact it might have on the way they view something.

And most importantly....don't forget to have fun! Happy Snapping :)

bottom of page